Pleasure

Photo of Painting

Today I went and visited with my friend Susan.  She invited me to come over and paint, nibble on some veggies and go for a walk.  When I got there, I met her son, Victor.  He is a classically trained pianist and he played a piece for us.  Honestly, it was a beautiful piece that had both classical and jazz elements woven throughout.  I asked who the composer was, and to my shock and delight, Victor himself composed the piece.  An amazingly talented young man.

Anyway, then we sat down to paint.  If you know me well, you know that I don’t paint.  My mother was a gifted watercolour artist, but my gifts tended to be in other arenas – music, poetry, writing.  I remember trying to draw as a kid and just being absolutely frustrated with my childish efforts.  So, I sat and watched Susan for quite a while before I would even begin.  Eventually, I started painting and the above is a picture of the result.  I was trying to paint “pleasure”.  Now I know it is kind of basic and childlike, but I can’t believe I created anything that is recognizable!  It was a lot of fun in the end.

We nibbled on veggies as we caught up on our lives.  Last year, we were in a spiritual direction group together, and we reminisced about that as well as how we are in much different places today than we thought we would be then.

Our walk was on the path behind the beautiful homes in the Twin Brooke subdivision in Edmonton.  The path has ravines on one side and on the other, the beautifully landscaped homes.  I think this must be one of the most beautiful walks you can find in the city as it has both natural and man-made beauty interacting throughout.  It was a hard walk for me this time – my body is achy today perhaps due to the heat and humidity.  Susan very kindly slowed her pace down for me as well as swatted the mosquitoes off of my back almost constantly.

Afterwards, we went back to my place and had some wings, spaghetti squash, cherry tomatoes and kale chips.  We talked about recipes discovered and also about bargains we had found on furniture.

Although I tried to paint “pleasure” as I mentioned above, spending time with friends, catching up, walking, talking and sharing a meal would be my real idea of pleasure.  What a great day.
Pleasure

4 thoughts on “Pleasure

Leave a Reply

