Clouds

storm-moving-in-1558415-1599x1066

Today’s prompt is the word “clouds” and today’s reading included Proverbs 3:19-20:

By wisdom the Lord laid the earth’s foundations,
    by understanding he set the heavens in place;
by his knowledge the watery depths were divided,
    and the clouds let drop the dew.

I’ve been caught in a number of storms lately.  Actually, it has been a stormy summer (and I love it) in Edmonton this year.  Not since the first summer I visited here do I remember this many rainstorms and thunderstorms.  I consider it very much a blessing to be here writing this short devotion while rain falls loudly outside my window.

Yesterday, I got caught in the hailstorm in downtown Edmonton.  Perhaps it went on for 20 minutes, but it seemed like hours.  I tried to get off the road under some sort of canapé of trees or some other covering, but could not find a good spot.  It was somewhat frightening to be driving while hail noisily pelted the roof and windows of my car.  Of course, I prayed for protection.  But I also complained about being in the midst of such a violent storm.

Today, the storm clouds rolled in again as I parked at home at Taylor Seminary.  I got stuck over in the seminary offices when the boomers started.  In a violent thunderstorm even a short distance of a few hundred feet is too far to walk.  This was one of those times.  So, I waited it out.

I chatted with a few people while I waited for the storm to pass.  It was fun and I received some encouragement.  God knows when the clouds let drop the dew.

Ciao for now.

Clouds

2 thoughts on “Clouds

  1. Wonderful picture and equally wonderful summary of your day under siege from heaven’s wrath or what seems like it.

Leave a Reply

