Tourist

on-the-road-1361440-1599x1065.jpg

I remember in my early days as a Christian, when I read the Bible for the first time, and I read of how we are stewards of the earth.  I was surprised because a lot of the Christians I had been acquainted in years prior seemed to regard themselves as tourists here on earth.  “It’s all going to go away anyways,” kind of thinking.  But nothing could be further from the truth.  What we do with what we have been given has lasting, eternal implications.

Before I moved to Edmonton, I came up on an exploratory trip.  I was a tourist – a visitor. But as I checked out ways that could possibly lead to my move here, the groundwork was being laid for this to be my home.  Relationships were established and developed, familiarity with the City was bred, arrangements were made to make my new home.

Now, as I think about my real home, I think about things very similarly.  I am a visitor here on earth, establishing and developing relationships, getting familiar with the kingdom of God, working out my salvation so to speak, so as to enter the New Jerusalem when the time comes.

Tourist with a purpose; that’s what I am.

Bless ya – ciao for now.

Tourist

2 thoughts on “Tourist

  1. “I was surprised because a lot of the Christians I had been acquainted in years prior seemed to regard themselves as tourists here on earth. “It’s all going to go away anyways,” kind of thinking. But nothing could be further from the truth. What we do with what we have been given has lasting, eternal implications.”

    It may at some point all go away – it will also all be renewed, as will we, from imperfect to perfect. From mortal to immortal.

    1. Yes, it is an interesting paradox of sorts. What we do with what we have been given has at the very least implications for us in terms of our character and development….sanctification. At least that is my thought, though there are obviously varying theological stances on this. Thank you for engaging.

Leave a Reply

