Water

glass-of-water-1327012-1600x1200

An essential for life – water.  On this 8-week blood sugar diet (and today is Day 15 for me), an increase in water is required.  It fills you up and hydrates the body to make it capable of walking the distances I am walking (sometimes) and functioning much better.    I try and drink 4 very large glasses of water a day at a minimum and whenever I am hungry, I try to remember to reach for the water first and then if I am still hungry, reach for the celery and carrots.

In Chapter 4 of the Book of John, there is an account of a thirsty Jesus asking a Samaritan woman for a drink of water.  She no doubt draws him a drink of water to satiate his thirst. Jesus offers her a different kind of water, though (v. 13-14):

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

Once we receive Jesus’ gift, we can be sure he will evidence himself in us.  We will lose our thirst for our own significance, our own comfort, our own agendas, and thus allow him to work in us to point the way to him.  It is a transformational process and not an instantaneous event.

I am in a place of healing and reflection where once again, I can draw on the spring of water residing inside me that is eternally life-giving.  Thank you, LORD.

Ciao for now.

Water

Leave a Reply

