Deprive

walker-1479727-1599x1057

So, today I went on a 6-mile walk.  I figured I did that yesterday, so I should be able to do that today.  Wrong.  The notion that I could do a 6-mile walk today sort of resulted from an inability to meet the demands of reality.

I am in a study group that is working through Henry Cloud’s book Integrity.  In that book, he defines character as “the ability to meet the demands of reality.”  That is a very interesting definition of character, isn’t it?  He illuminates further, “a person’s character determines whether he or she will succeed in [a] situation.  This comes to mind for me as I continue on this 8-week journey to attempt to get my blood sugar under control through diet and exercise.

One of the things I like about me is my ability to focus the resulting stick-to-it-iveness that comes along with that.  Generally speaking, when I decide to do something, I go at it 110% and don’t get off track easily.  But that ability also can create some problems.  One of those problems is that at 110%, I often get ahead of myself.  My self-talk tends to be, “just get a little ahead of the game and then you can relax a little bit.”  But of course, even if I get a little ahead, I then want to get even more ahead – put a little more in the bank so to speak.  In terms of my current exercise regime, I almost always try and push myself beyond my capabilities today so as to have a better tomorrow.

In other words, I try and do tomorrow’s walk today.  Today that got me in a lot of trouble as I found myself in considerable pain about 4 miles into my 6-mile walk.  I hobbled along praying earnestly that someone who knew me would see me and rescue me.  It so happens that someone (Margaret) did see me and rescue me.  Thank you, LORD, for sending Margaret just in the nick of time and reminding me that I can trust you in the small things as well as the large things of life.

I am only two weeks into this new regime!  Why in the world would I attempt such a long distance?  I think there is another part of me that tried to do yesterday’s walk today as well.  I’m needing to lose weight and after years of not exercising properly, perhaps I am trying to make up for those years.  I want yesterday’s reality to be rewritten.

But Henry Cloud talks about meeting the demands of reality.  And reality is right here right now.  Today’s walk is for today.  To try and do yesterday’s walk or tomorrow’s walk today is a recipe for robbing myself of the joy on today’s walk.  Today’s painful experience was proof of that!

Matthew 6:34 says, “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Today has enough trouble of its own.”  Boy, that was true for me today! Worrying about tomorrow guarantees to deprive me of joy today.

God bless you . . . today.

Ciao for now.

Deprive

Leave a Reply

