Fence

fence-1486397.jpg

Today’s reading for me is Psalm 119.  It is a beautiful psalm.  A psalm that covers the A to Z (or rather the א to ת) of the benefits of honouring God’s laws.  In fact, in the 176 verses of the psalm, I counted the following references to “the law”:

law(s) – 45
statutes – 22
precepts – 21
decrees – 22
commands – 22
your word(s) – 23

That is 155 references with those words that refer to God’s laws.  (I’m sure I missed some, but still, that’s a lot of reference to the law!)

It is easy to think of the law as something that restricts us – like a fence.  But the paradox surrounding God’s law is that it sets us free.  I believe that is because God’s laws are a description of reality.  His laws are universal truths.  Unlike civil laws which vary from state to state, province to province, and country to country, God’s laws cover all corners of the earth and beyond.

Psalm 119:45 says, I will walk about in freedom, for I have sought out your precepts.”  

The laws are not spelled out in Psalm 119.  You have to read the rest of the book for that.  I assure you, it is well worth the read.

Have a great day.Fence

Leave a Reply

