Natural

red-417106_1280

Day 1 of my new regime was pretty successful.  It is hardest in the evening for me when I just want to “veg” (forgive the pun) in all the wrong ways.  On to Day 2.

How appropriate to have the word natural as today’s prompt.  The regime I am adhering to in terms of diet for the next eight weeks (hopefully longer) is one that is quite strict on 800 calories a day.  Dr. Michael Mosley wrote a book – “The 8-Week Blood Sugar Diet” which I found absolutely fascinating.  Particularly as he addresses how some of the past diets (all of which I am familiar with) came into popularity and the errors in study that are problematic for those diets.  He was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes despite appearing fit and healthy on the outside, and this prompted him to study the issue and make changes accordingly.  You’ll have to get his book to really get it.  Or just let me be your guinea pig.

The thing is, a lot of plans suggest you should not fast and/or you should not go on a very low-cal diet.  But – hear me on this – any time I have fasted or gone low-cal I have felt significantly better. I just would not do it because it was never recommended.  This plan gives me freedom to do what has seemed to make my body feel best.  Which just goes to show that you have to be careful who you listen to and how they have studied the issue….perhaps.  We’ll see; the proof will be in the pudding, or rather, the lack thereof.

So, my diet will be filled with veggies, fruits, cheese, eggs, meats & fish, olive oil, coconut oil, etc. My diet will eliminate refined carbohydrates and limit good carbohydrates (such as potato, sweet potato, corn, etc.).  It is definitely more focused on fresh, natural ingredients.  Which is why I go to the farmer’s market every Saturday morning.  My shopping list is simple:  cherry tomatoes, carrots, peppers, onions, kohlrabi, Honey Crisp apples (in the fall).  Then I head to the Italian Store to get a little chunk of ham and Prima Donna cheese, both of which I dice up to have on hand for omelettes, as well as kale.  From Costco, periodically, I’ll purchase salmon (cut it up into $2 portions for freezing), chicken, almonds, tuna (best price I’ve found), and frozen blueberries and strawberries.  And from other grocery stores, I supplement with things like pork chops, beef, unsweetened coconut milk (lactose free), cucumbers and squash (they don’t taste significantly different to me to warrant the higher price, though the locally grown would likely be much healthier).  The Mediterranean style of eating is recommended for this plan, including full fat dairy, real butter – no fake stuff.

All that to say that I really appreciate the farmer’s markets in Edmonton and St. Albert.  Especially for the cherry tomatoes and the peppers.  There is a VAST difference in taste in those particular items as far as I am concerned – natural tastes good.  Added bonuses are the amount of walking involved (and yes, now I have a walking plan), and socialization with vendors and/or friends encountered.

Pardon me now as I go to create a most delightful omelette.

Ciao (or chow) for now.

One thought on “Natural

Leave a Reply

