If We Were Having Coffee Right Now…

If we were having coffee right now, I would tell you how I came to move to Edmonton from Detroit.  How it was the prayers of many people for whom I am very grateful that laid the foundation for that move.  And how it has not been easy, but it has been what God desired for me and has resulted in me being a more satisfied and complete person than I ever imagined I would be.

If we were having coffee right now, I would tell you about many beautiful women that I have been privileged to get to know over the past three years.  Women who have had all the odds stacked against them and yet still radiate with the love of Jesus.  Women who have had all the odds stacked for them and yet still radiate with the love of Jesus.  Women who love, nurture and encourage each other as we all travel on a journey to Jerusalem.

If we were having coffee right now, I would tell you about my sisters, whom I grow to love more and more each day – hmmmm….is that because we never see each other and absence makes the heart grow fonder?  I doubt it.  And about my nieces, all of whom are special to me with their unique gifts and personalities.

If we were having coffee right now, I would tell you about how I seem to have been attending school for about 50 years now (literally, 50 years!), and that I enjoy it still.

If we were having coffee right now, I would ask you for your top five book recommendations and then share mine.  A Prayer for Owen Meany, Tattoos on the Heart, Cold Sassy Tree, The Insanity of Obedience and Crazy Love being among mine.  I would want to know what music you like and share my favourites as well.

If we were having coffee right now, I would share the hard times I have had over the past few years as well as the good times.  In all the sharing, I would try and make you laugh as many times as possible because I love to hear people’s laughter.  It used to be that my laugh would change to match the laughs of whoever I was hanging out with the most.  It was annoying and embarrassing to me that that would happen, but there seemed to be little I could do about it – it just happened!  Now, it seems I retain my own unique laughter which I quite enjoy and appears to be contagious.

If we were having coffee right now, I would want to find out if there is anything for which I could offer you prayer.

Finally, if we were having coffee right now, I would thank you for spending time with me. For listening.  And for sharing.

One thought on “If We Were Having Coffee Right Now…

Leave a Reply

