I Write Because…

I write because through writing, I discover who I am.  Everything seems so fleeting now, except for what is written.  Every once in a while, I’ll pull out writings (letters, poems, whatever) from three or four decades ago, just to get a sense of how much I have changed over the years, and also see some things that have stayed the same.

When I went to university, the writing stopped.  I tried to write, but nothing would come out of me.  I remember sitting and staring a blank pieces of paper for hours any time there was an assignment due for class.  It was not until I became a follower of Jesus at the age of 41 that words began to pour out of me again.  The first devotional piece I wrote was quite short, but it felt like a huge weight had come off of my shoulders.  And I began to write devotionals on a regular basis.  These devotionals would be simply something I had experienced or a reading I had done in the Bible, and the application or the learning that came out of the experience.

One thing I noticed was that when I began writing about whatever experience or reading I had done, I did not know what the ending was in advance.  The writing actually helped me process whatever happened in light of Scripture that I was engaged with at the time.

Another thing that I noticed was that where once my writing was very dark (before my long break from writing), my writing now reflected a transformation, redemption and meaning associated with whatever I had experienced.

I like to think that God stopped me from going down a dark road with my writing and withheld the gift until such time as I could reflect a proper perspective on events.  Or until such time that I realized his love for me and all creation and could convey even just a little bit of that love in writing.

3 thoughts on “I Write Because…

Leave a Reply

