Blessed Rain

“Listen, you heavens, and I will speak;
    hear, you earth, the words of my mouth.
Let my teaching fall like rain
    and my words descend like dew,
like showers on new grass,
    like abundant rain on tender plants.”

Deuteronomy 32:1-2 (NIV)

We have long winters here in Alberta, and this last winter was really long….I mean REALLY long!  Today is June 2, 2013, and our last snowstorm was less than a month ago.  This last winter brought a lot of precipitation in the form of snow as well.  We were all exhausted by the end of it.  It just seemed like it would never end.  And so, Albertans are thrilled when warm, sunny days rule as they typically do in the months of June and July in particular, and especially during the summer solstice when the days are eighteen hours long and the night rules for only six hours.

As for me, though, it is a special treat to experience a day like today.  When I woke early this morning, the wood on the balcony was wet, evidence that it had rained during the night.  The air was heavy with water as eyes sometimes are heavy with unshed tears.  Ahhhh.  I was tempted to just curl up again under the blankets and go back to sleep.  But I love my church and it wouldn’t feel right to miss even just one Sunday if I didn’t have to.  So, I hopped in the shower, got dressed and took off for church, leaving all the windows open to allow the moist, humid air to infiltrate my home.

It was a good morning at church, with a sermon focused on studying the Bible and the benefits of doing so.  Our church is being encouraged to do a 5x5x5 study throughout the summer – 5 minutes a day, 5 days a week, 5 ways to dig deeper.  Here’s the link if you need it:  2013 Summer Bible Reading Plan.

I was excited to get home from church to curl up in a blanket, plop down on the couch and get caught up in my “Read the Bible in 90 Days” plan.  I’m not bragging or trying to race or beat anyone – I committed to this prior to knowing the plan for our church!  But whatever plan you use to study the Bible, let God’s words “descend like dew, like showers on new grass, like abundant rain on tender plants” just as Moses’ words impacted the Israelites.  The rain we got today was so desired by our fauna as it has been extremely dry – the abundant rain was most welcome.  Let your heart welcome God’s words in such a way and you won’t experience the dryness of a desert drought.

Leave a Reply

